Trying something new can often taste like fear

I was on the phone with a friend of mine last night, a truly spectacular feat in and of itself because I hate the phone, and we got to talking about my being unemployed.

He mentioned something that he read a few days ago about doing something new everyday for 30 days. He suggested I do it that way I can sort of shake out the cobwebs and have something to do.

I’m thinking….why not.

My only impediment is my own fears and well…my anxiety and panic disorders. Those are being managed pretty well with medication and I’m sure if I do things that aren’t absolutely bat shit crazy, I should be fine. Right?


Right?

I’ll be honest with you guys. I’ll probably try it for a week and see what happens. I mean this could end in disaster. No one wants that.

Unless it makes for good story.

I’m probably going to start next week…so stay tuned.

What are some things you would want to do if you had the time and the challenge to try something new for 7 days?

2 thoughts on “Trying something new can often taste like fear

  1. I love projects. So I’d learn a new skill. Try calligraphy. That’s on my to-do list. I also just bought a Chinese bamboo flute and I’ll be trying to learn that đŸ™‚ Oh and of course, submitting my law school applications. The first two are just new things to try but the last one is kind of a nail biter and gives me anxiety.

    Do you have anything particular in mind?

    • I have a few things like I’m gonna paint a streak in my hair (it’s not like I’m getting any interviews, right?), maybe go to a movie by myself (I don’t know about that, that’s very far outside my comfort zone), I do want to go the Morgan Library, so I might do that. I used to work right around there and never went, so maybe I should just go.

      A Chinese bamboo flute sounds frikkin’ awesome! You’ll have to let me know how that goes

Talk To Me

