unemployment monday – when I grow up….

 

 

 

 

Waking up at three in the afternoon after not being able to sleep until three thirty in the morning is a problem.

Lethargy, despair, and a cup of coffee greet most of the unemployed in the morning –  myself included.

I’ve noticed that the job boards are playing the same songs.  There hasn’t been any real change in the posting  and the so-called additions of jobs are usually in fields that are so specific (with all employers begging for experience) that even if I wanted to apply I wouldn’t get the job.

I don’t have the experience and I’m likely to never get it at the rate we’re going. But that’s OK, I don’t exactly want to be a registered nurse (I don’t think I can stick people with needles).

So, scouring the job boards, applying for jobs that interest me plus any jobs that I think I can get is what compromises most of my days.

I’m not getting any bites.

A friend of mine said that I should set my goal for companies that I want to work for. All the companies I want to work for are either not hiring or I’ve applied to them and they’re simply not hiring me. This friend also hit upon something I should think about, what is it that I want to do.

Well, that’s the problem. I’m not sure. I keep waiting for the answer to hit me and then I just delay it saying ‘well when I grow up’.

I’m already grown up. There is no more waiting.

As a kid I wanted to be everything.

I wanted to a cop. A teacher. An Ad Exec. A dancer. A singer. An Actress. A writer (I’m still struggling with this one). A book store owner. A bartender. A QVC model (please don’t ask). A baker.

I think you get the point.

As I got older, I realized that I just wanted to be successful and I wanted to be that ever elusive thing called happy. I never wanted to be rich but I did want to be comfortable.  I wanted to be interested in my job and I wanted to work in a place that fosters its people.

That’s all I really want. To do something that is interesting and that I’ll be happy in. As long as I can be creative, as long as the environment is warm and easy-going and as long as the work means something then sign me up.

As we all know, how companies hire is a straight up mystery to me. I’m qualified, intelligent and college educated. I have everything they want and yet I have nothing.

So, I might not know what I want to be when I grow up but I do know that I am good at jobs. All I want is a chance.

And also, the location of where my small spoons keep disappearing to.

7 thoughts on “unemployment monday – when I grow up….

  1. I dont think i can help with the job search. But i think i can help with the spoon thing. I’ve got them. We have about 100 and counting in the cutlery draw. I don’t know how they got there but they must be yours

    • I knew it! Every single time I look for a small spoon to stir my coffee I end up looking like a maniac (if you happened upon me in the kitchen at that exact moment).

      My cutlery drawer is either using portals to escape or Doctor Who is sweeping them away.

  2. Hey have you perhaps looked into working at a publishing house since you love to read and blog? And do you have to stay in the city you’re in now or would you be comfortable moving? Because I hear it’s a bit easier to find/get the job you want if you’re willing to move to the job location. Harper Collins is hiring 🙂

    • Hi!

      First, thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to reply.

      Ok, now on to your comment ;D

      I have looked into it, especially as soon as I graduated college many moons ago. I also apply on a regular basis to Harper, Penguin, McMillian, Hatchett and so on. So far nothing. All of these are located in my city and since I live in NYC I would need a very good reason to move out. Plus, my husband’s career is here.

      As for applying to publishing companies there are a few issues with that. One, as much as I hate to say it, Print is a dying medium. Therefore they are hiring less and letting go more. I don’t have any experience in e-books except for selling them and of course buying them :). Also, they tend to look for people with experience. Since I didn’t have any internships in college, I am more likely to be passed over. Even for the entry-level jobs. Also, they have a lot of internship positions but there’s no way I can trick them into believing that I’m 19. 22 maybe, but not 19.

      However, I still keep applying. I have a trick up my sleeve for the next application. I mean, at this point. I have absolutely nothing to lose.

  3. Well dang, you’ll have to let me know what your trick is if it works out for you ^_- Being in NYC is so awesome. I kind of want to move there but I’m also scared because I don’t know if I’ll be able to adjust to the fast paced living.

Talk To Me

